25 months of sunshine

My “little” Munch is 25 months old today.  It might be un-cool to still be thinking in terms of months of age once your 2 years old but I’m gonna go with it anyway.

25 months

Some quick Brooke highlights at 25 months old…

She’s SO talkative!!  I can’t believe we had a speech therapy evaluation for this child because she’s become a chatterbox!!  She also loves to sing!!  Around her birthday we sang “Opie cee you” to everyone in the household, including Sheed, close to a gazillion times.  We always sing Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star at bedtime and thanks to Barney, “If All The Raindrops”, “Mister Sun” and “I Love You” are also favorites.

She’s on a transportation kick.  She loves things that go…we took our first train ride a couple weeks ago and loved it!!  She’s started noticing the buses, both school & METRO, and even tried to catch up to one to ride it one day when we were in Midtown.  Another favorite, “hairplanes” and “heli-cack-cack-ters”.  It can take about 3 times longer to get from the front door to the car if there is one of either in the sky because we have to look up and announce it at every step.

Potty training is…..going.  Brooke either resists actually staying on the potty until she’s done or gets REALLY comfortable and refuses to get up.  Very rarely to we find a middle ground.  When she wants to be, she can be very successful at it and when she’s feeling stubborn, she’s not.  There’s no rush though so we’re just going with the flow.  HA!  No pun intended!

She’s blowing us away with how well she’s picking up shapes, colors, counting, and her ABCs.  And when I say shapes, I’m talking hexagons, ovals, crescents, not just circle and square.  I found a Shape game app for my iPhone and she loves earning stickers by choosing the right shape.  She has a couple Melissa & Doug puzzles, these and this one, and she flies through them.

We still love cooking and baking together.  She makes some awesome scrambled eggs, is an expert at stirring pancake batter, loves creating new recipes with salt & pepper.  Baking bread in the breadmaker is probably the easiest kitchen project we do…its mostly dry ingredients so even if there’s mess its super easy to clean up.

She’s just so much fun.  Sure she makes me want to tear my hair out sometimes but she mostly just warms my heart.  I’m having such a good time watching her grow and just can’t wait to see as she continues developing into her own little person.

2 Comments

Filed under Brooke

2 responses to “25 months of sunshine

  1. Deb

    Sarah,
    I’m here at 7:30 p.m. doing conferences and it is the first time in a long time I was able to get on. I am sooooo impressed with all she is doing and all you are doing with her. She doesn’t even sound like the same little girl we seen just a few short months ago. It’s killing me. I told KC if she gets a new comp. for her and Brian to order us one too. Enough of that old stuff.

    I’m printing this off so I can take it h0me and share it with gramps……I’m sure he will still be awake as he was worring about me earlier. I’ll pass it on to others too. Sorry I honestly don’t get much of your messages as they won’t normally let me on at work. i hve tried several times to ck. out the Avon stuff and have not gotten through except for once.

    Thank u Thank u Thank u for sharing. Give her a grrrreat big hug for me. We sure do miss you guys a bunch.

    potty training will come–she picks up everything so darn fast.

  2. Deb

    Will you promise to make us some bread when we come for our next visit? Sounds very good——can’t wait.

Leave a comment