Wear Red Day 2010

February 5th, 2010 is National Wear Red Day sponsored by the American Heart Association. What an easy way to create awareness for heart disease, which can affect everyone regardless of gender, age, ethnicity, etc. We all talk about breast cancer but do most realize that heart disease is the top killer in women? It will affect 1 in 3 of us.

We just had biometric screening onsite at work this week. I learned that I am in the acceptable/good range for blood sugar, blood pressure and cholesterol. My BMI isn’t in an acceptable range so I’ll be doing some of the free wellness coaching that we have available. I’m very thankful that I had the opportunity to participate in those screenings. While I’ve been pretty consistent in visiting my “girlie doctor” yearly for a well-check, I’ve never done the same with a general physician.  I would be willing to bet that I’m not alone and that many women would say the same.  While I’m very thankful that my results showed me to be fairly healthy, I can’t help but wonder what if I wasn’t?  When would I find out?  After having a heart attack or stroke?  What if that was too late?

For more information about Go Red for Women & Wear Read Day, click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Good Causes

Leave a Reply

